Book Review: Before I Go To Sleep by S J Watson

beforeigotosleepThis is another one that I read a few months ago. A few months ago I had a lot more time for reading, as my Uni course had not yet started. So most of my reviews now have come from that indescribable period of a few months ago.

I read this book following a few recommendations from people who I generally associate with varying genres. This made me think, if so many varied readers like this book, I should really give it a go.

I have to say that I was not disappointed. In my most humble of opinions, Before I Go To Sleep is a well written suspense novel. It manages to get the cogs of one’s brain whirring without placing too much stress in the analysis of reading. It is a nice easy read, with a captivating storyline.

I found that the premise enticed me. I liked the idea of having the story told from the perspective of a really unreliable narrator. This unreliable narrator was our only gateway into the story, and therefore everything that she believed, the reader is led to believe. This makes the narrative even more interesting, and somewhat personal.

I love that this book highlights the importance of memory and of perception. It manages to give a little bit of an insight into how memory plays such a big role in our lives. If you know anyone who suffers from any memory loss (i.e. Alzheimer’s), it will really help you to imagine what they are going through.

In terms of the story, I loved the twists and turns. I was certainly not expecting the ending to turn out the way it did, but I’m glad that it did. This is one of the best debut novels that I have read in a while.

I would recommend this book to most readers.

4/5

One Response to Book Review: Before I Go To Sleep by S J Watson

  1. I liked this a lot. The fact that the narrator was, by her nature, so unreliable made the whole read incredibly unnerving. Plus the ending is excellent.

Leave a Reply

