Book Review: The Universe Versus Alex Woods by Gavin Extence

81d+031CmSL._SL1500_Alex Woods is a good guy. He is such a likeable and unique character, one in whom we can probably see the personality of friends or even ourselves reflected. I agree with many of the critics who comment that he is a similar character to Mark Haddon’s Christopher, in that I have a similar reaction to him as the protagonist. He is likeable and appealing, and just so slightly awkward.

The unlikely yet strangely believable friendship between Alex and Mr Peterson is excellent. They are a great comedy duo and their interactions caused me many laughs throughout the book, and a few tears.

I love the way in which I feel like I’m peering in on somebody’s life, the way that it is clearly a novel but yet feels so personal that I am worried I am eavesdropping.

Euthanasia is not an easy topic to tackle, but I feel the way in which Gavin Extence has managed this, with the touches of comedy and social awkwardness, does it so much justice.

There is literally nothing bad I can say about this book. I’m glad I read it, it is the best debut novel I have read in years.

5/5

Leave a Reply

