Book Review: The Fault in Our Stars by John Green

the-fault-in-our-stars-coverI was given this book by a friend a while ago but only got around to reading it a couple of months ago for two reasons: 1. I hadn’t heard much about John Green previously (I know – I was living under a rock) so I wasn’t in a particular hurry to read it and 2. I didn’t think it was the kind of book that I would enjoy, what with me being slightly past the ‘young adult’ phase (or so I thought).

However, I am incredibly glad that I did get around to reading it. I have recently started reading young adult books, as I have begun tutoring teenagers in English and thought this would be a good way to get them involved in reading – and I have to say that this is one of the best YA books that I have read.

This book is very well written, with a narrator so innocent and humble that you cannot help but feel for. The characters in this novel have such believable personalities, even if their situations may not always seem realistic. And the content of this story is so inspiring that I hope young people will read it and cherish the lives they have.

This is a modern tragic comedy which at points will have you laughing and crying simultaneously. I will be recommending this to future students and to adults alike. This is not typical young adult fiction (starring vampires and werewolves, etc), it is more of a bridge between teenage and adult.

Thank you John Green, it was a fantastic read and I will certainly be reading more of your work in the future.

4.5/5

Leave a Reply

