Book Review: House of Silk by Anthony Horowitz

The_House_of_Silk

I have just suddenly realised I haven’t done a book review in almost a month. Not to say I haven’t been reading, I’ve just failed to share my opinions on what I’ve read.

So I purchased and read the new Sherlock Holmes novel. As some of you may know, I’m rather a large fan of Holmes and all that goes with him, and I will start this by saying that, surprisingly, the book didn’t disappoint me.

I’ll try not to give any spoilers as I do truly recommend this book as a good read. For those of you who are familiar with the work if Conan Doyle, don’t expect this to feel exactly the same. Horowitz is true to the character and spirit of Holmes, but it doesn’t quite feel as though you are genuinely reading an original book, there is a sense of replication to it.

The story, on the other hand, is quite unique, and intriguing. It should manage to keep you engaged, as it did me, and will keep you on your toes. Like any good Sherlock Holmes book, or TV adaptation, you can almost predict the ending but you are never quite certain until it is confirmed, and Horowitz picked up on this by dropping vague clues throughout the book that could lead to a few possible and foreseeable scenarios – but this was good, it made me want to read on, to see if I had come to the correct conclusion.

One of the best Sherlock Holmes adaptations that I’ve encountered in a while.

4/5

2 Responses to Book Review: House of Silk by Anthony Horowitz

  1. I just downloaded the Complete Sherlock Holmes on Kindle! Shamefully, I haven’t read any but I’ve been watching a lot of Elementary. Which books are your favourite? Does House of Silk make the list?

Leave a Reply

