An Ode to London

Today, for  the first time in my life, I went on a tour of London. This may seem normal to some of you, but I happen to live IN London, a stones throw away from the very centre of the city. Sure I’ve seen most parts of London, travelled all over – but as a Londoner that is more of a means to an end. I travel through the depths of London because I have somewhere to get to, but I never truly take it in.

Today that changed. We had to visit Waterstones on Gower Street, which whilst being the largest academic bookshop in Europe, has also just become my favourite place on Earth. 4 storeys of pure book bliss. (I stuck to my guns though – I didn’t buy myself a single book!)

As it is Sunday and there’s thankfully no ridiculous congestion charge, and parking is free in most places thanks to the beauty of yellow lines, we took the car, and decided to deviate a bit, to get a nice view of the London we so frequently avoid.

Here is my day in some particularly bad quality pictures from an iPhone in a moving vehicle:

Big Ben

Big Ben

Admirality Arch

Admirality Arch

The fountain in Trafalgar Square and the christmas tree given to England by the Norwegians annually

The fountain in Trafalgar Square and the christmas tree given to England by the Norwegians annually

Westminster Abbey

Westminster Abbey

Westminster Cathedral hidden away in Victoria

Westminster Cathedral hidden away in Victoria

The Mi5 building - my place of employment!

The Mi5 building – my place of employment!

The National Portrait Gallery

The National Portrait Gallery

Horseguards Parade

Horseguards Parade

 

I was unable to take any pictures inside Waterstones as I was afraid they would throw me out and not let me look at the books anymore. This is a risk I am unwilling to take.

For those of you who live in London, or any other big city, how often do you observe your city for the beauty that it actually has, the architecture and the heritage?

 

Leave a Reply

