Top Ten Books To Look Forward To

All around the blogosphere, there are people writing their top ten, whatever it may be – top ten films of 2012, top ten books of 2012, top ten moments, etc. My top ten is only slightly different in that it is my top ten books that I am looking forward to reading in 2013. These are not new releases, I’m not one to look out for new books, as they come, I see them, I read them. The anticipation of newly released artefacts (that includes films) evades me.

Anyway, the books I am looking forward to reading are:

Hope: A Tragedy by Shalom Auslander

There but for the by Ali Smith

The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

These first three are books I have received over this festive season, and which fit in well with my usual likings.

The House of Silk by Anthony Horowitz

I am bound to get rather critical of this book, as I am a notsocloseted Sherlock Holmes fan, however, I am more than intrigued to see if Mr Horowitz can in any way match the literary wisdom of Mr Conan Doyle

Bleak House by Charles Dickens

Because is has been on my shelf for the longest period of time, and because the subject appeals to me, and because it is such a huge book, I vow to start AND finish this by the end of 2013

Ham on Rye by Charles Bukowski

Recommended by a friend to buy as a gift for my mother, once looking at the colourful cover and the lovely typeface used for the title (aesthetics ARE important!) I decided to buy myself a copy too.

The Satanic Verses by Salman Rushdie

Simply because it was at one point so infamous and I want to see what all the buzz was about.

Brave New World by Aldous Huxley

1984 by George Orwell

Catcher in the Rye 22 by JD Salinger

Because I really should have read these books all the way through whilst I was in school, but rebelling against the educational system and not bothering to do my homework most of the time, I neglected to finish any of these fine novels.

i-never-finish-what-i-star

So, what books are you looking forward to this coming year?

4 Responses to Top Ten Books To Look Forward To

  1. Too bad you rebelled against the educational system when it came to those three master pieces! The Catcher in the Rye is simply hilarious! So rich and so well-constructed.
    I’m going to take the liberty to recommend you one: Everything is Illuminated, by Safran Foer. In one word: brilliant.

    • I will definitely look at that. I love getting recommendations – then I’m not to blame if I don’t like it! I will get around to making up for my rebellious actions at some point this year, with a little bit of patience and a lot of luck.

  2. allonymbooks says:

    I enjoyed The House of Silk – not so much of a ACD fan as you, but I found it well read and well considered. Have you come across Laurie R King’s books, beginning with The Beekeeper’s Apprentice – also on a Sherlock Holmes theme, and similarly well executed.

Leave a Reply

