Another 2013 Challenge

This challenge is for me personally, but I would like it to inspire you readers to do the same:

When reading this year, power through! At the moment I am reading Aldous Huxley’s Crome Yellow, and all though so far it is interesting, the prose and the language can at times make for a difficult read, and I have so far been tempted on no less than 10 occasions in the last day alone to put it down and pick up one of my shiny new books with pretty covers and easy reading. But, my challenge for 2013, and starting today, is to power on through with every book I pick up.

Doing this will hopefully prevent the number of books on my shelf with bookmarks sticking out of them halfway through (which may have been there for the past year or two) from increasing anymore.

This could easily lead to a tedious year in which I find myself not enjoying half of the stuff I read, but it could just as easily lead to a year of gaining wisdom and knowledge which I may have otherwise neglected to the dark realms of the unread.

If you’re thinking of doing the same, just do it! Just for the pure satisfaction of knowing you have the necessary willpower to.

 

On another note, I’m glad to say that we are all alive. The Mayans really were a lazy bunch when it came to calendar writing. Or, maybe it was some kind of joke? ‘Just stop writing the date…THERE, December 21st 2012, that ought to f*** people up a bit’.

One Response to Another 2013 Challenge

  1. mightwar says:

    Good luck with your challenge. I too have a few books sitting on the shelf which seemed a lot of work at one time or another. I am hoping that in time, I will return and finish them. That is the joy of books – that they can be returned to without guilt or judgement; and sometimes, you find that the later attempt has allowed you time to grow and appreciate them.

Leave a Reply

